Skip to main content

Usual open hours

Spence Wing (First floor)

Includes the main reference library, the Information Desk, and the Treasures Wall.

Monday to Wednesday: 10am to 8pm
Thursday and Friday: 10am to 6pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am to 5pm

State Library Gallery Monday to Wednesday: 10am to 7.45pm
Thursday and Friday: 10am to 5.45pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am to 4.45pm

Your Hub (Ground floor, glass foyer)

Monday to Sunday: open from 9am until closing time

Institute Building 

Includes our tenants, the Circulation Library and the Ante-Chamber gallery.

Monday to Sunday: 10am to 5pm

Mortlock Chamber

Monday to Sunday: 10am to 5pm

Symon Library

Located on level three of the Mortlock Chamber.

Monday to Friday: 12 to 2pm

Venue closures

The Mortlock Chamber and Treasures Wall are venues for hire, which means that sometimes these areas are closed to the public. The following restrictions apply up to, and including Sunday 26 November 2019:

Mortlock Wing

  • Saturday 16 November - closed from 2pm
  • Tuesday 19 November - closed from 4.30pm
  • Wednesday 20 November - closed from 3pm
  • Saturday 24 November - closed from 3pm

Treasures Wall

  • Saturday 16 November - closed from 4pm
  • Saturday 24 November - closed from 4pm

Note: This information is updated on a weekly basis.

Christmas and New Years open hours

  • Monday 23 December - 10am to 8pm
  • Tuesday 24 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Wednesday 25 December - closed
  • Thursday 26 December - closed
  • Friday 27 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday 28 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Sunday 29 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Monday 30 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Tuesday 31 December - 10am to 5pm
  • Wednesday 1 January 2019 - closed

Normal open hours resume 2 January 2019.

Public holidays

We close on public holidays.

Cafe and tenant details

View the cafe and tenant open hours.